Saturday, March 28, 2009

Sunland Derby Jockeys/trainers

While Sunday's Sunland Park Derby is filled with talented horses, the jockey and trainer colony is very good as well. The 12th race will go off at 5:45 p.m.

Among the jockeys in the race are Garrett Gomez, Mike Smith, David Flores, John Velasquez and Victor Espinoza.

Espinoza won the 2002 Kentucky Derby and Preakness aboard War Emblem. Also won the 2006 WinStar Derby at Sunland Park in 2006 aboard Wanna Runner and won the WinStar Sunland Park Oaks in 2007 aboard Tough Tiz's Sis.

Velasquez has won seven Breeders' Cup races and in 2007, won the Belmont Stakes aboard Rags To Riches.

Gomez won two Breeders' Cup races in 2005, was the nation's top jockey in 2008 and won four Breeders' Cup races in 2008.

Flores won the 2003 Arlington Million with Sulamani and won the Breeders' Cup mile in 2004 aboard Singletary.

Smith is a New Mexico favorite. The Roswell born jockey won the 2005 Kentucky Derby aboard Giacomo and won the 1993 Preakness with Prairie Bayou.

Among the top trainers in the field are Todd Pletcher, Bob Baffer, Doug O'Neill and Michael Machowsky.

- Felix